Skiing for the first time EVER!

1508193_10206050331995661_5620819999540604278_nSo my parents have come out to Mayrhofen to see me and my mum is the only skier in the family. I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to try out skiing for myself! My boyfriend Simon (he is a snowboarder but can ski too) was my ski instructor for the afternoon and after 3 hours I had just about got the hang of the basics. S2080038It was a really strange feeling trying to ski, I kept doing a snowplough with my knees touching which is certainly not the way to do it and actually makes life a lot harder. Once I got my head around the technique I managed to link some turns and actually get a bit of speed.Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 17.54.55 For me to learn and my mum to get back into skiing we just went to a small slope at the bottom of the Mayrhofen Horberg gondola and paid 2 euros for a day pass! I think after a few more hours practise I could pluck up the courage to do an actual mountain run on my skis but for now I’m back on my snowboard!Ā S2080024

I’m glad I tried skiing as I have always wondered how it would feel going from a snowboard to skis! I think if you can already snowboard then you at least have an understanding of edge control and the lifts won’t freak you out as much as if you were a complete beginner.Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 17.55.29 I know that if you ski you will watch my video and see how bad my technique is! I was quite proud of myself after only 3 hours on the slope I could at least turn so I was happy with that! haha so here it is, me skiing..Ā 

It was fun for the day but I won’t be switching to ski’s for good! šŸ™‚Ā Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 17.55.18

Leave a Reply

